icon

Help with Autopage alarm and Chevy Beretta

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
esteban 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2002 at 9:47 PM / IP Logged  

I am sure glad I found this site.  Exellent information, and what seems to be very helpfull people too!  Now, I am new to car security and after having my $1500 worth of stuff stolen from my car, I want to install an   Autopage RF-303 alarm that I've got just laying around.  I have read through the instructions carefully and looked at the 1988-93 Chevrolet Beretta Security Information on this site but I have a couple of questions. 

1)  I am not sure how to hook up the door trigger.  This site gives the following info for an 89 Beretta 

Door TriggerWhite (-) Courtesy Light 

One of the courtesy lights under the dash has an ORANGE wire and a WHITE wire going to the bulb socket.  My Autopage manual states for a negative pin switching system connect the GRAY wire from alarm to the switch side of the interior light wiring.  Does this mean I can just tap the GRAY wire into the WHITE wire at light bulb socket?????

2)  I am not sure how to hook up the flashing parking lights wire.  This site gives the following info

Parking LightsBrown Light Switch 

I removed the entire light switch module from the dash and yes there is a BROWN  wire behing the switch.  On the alarm there is a GREEN wire with an inline 10 amp fuse.  The manual says connect the GREEN fused wire to the parking light wire of the vehicle as determined at the beginning of the installation.  Now, WHY is the GREEN wire fused????  Is it really that simple as taping the GREEN wire into the BROWN wire?

3)  How do I hook up the trunk release with this information???

Trunk ReleaseBlack Switch