2002 hyundai elantra stock alarm question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
southpawboston 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2004 at 6:14 PM / IP Logged  
newbie question:
i have an '02 elantra with factory alarm/keyless system. i want to determine whether or not i can add a pair of window modules (to roll all four windows up or down) to this system. here's what the stock system can do:
(-) armed output (starter kill relay), no auxilliary output
two-button remote:
    one button locks/arms, flashes lights once
    other button unlocks/disarms, flashes lights twice
that's about it. it's a basic stock alarm, but upgrading to a different alarm system is not an option. i'm fairly comfortable with relays, diodes and capacitors, but otherwise i'm no pro. here is the way i was imagining controlling the window modules, but i'm not sure such a thing is feasible:
press arm button two times. this causes the lights to flash two times. harness this event with the (-) armed output signal to trigger window roll-up.
press disarm button twice. this causes the lights to flash four times. harness this event with the (dead) armed output signal to trigger window roll-down.
is this at all feasible? is it possible to create a trigger (in general) by a specific sequence of pulses (the pulses being the lights flashing)?
schematics would be helpful.
thanks!
bmf1000d 
Silver - Posts: 345
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2004 at 8:14 PM / IP Logged  
every window roll up has its own way of working do you have a window roll up already. Most only require one neg input and the module does the rest.
"Big" Mike
Double Take
Fremont, Ne
remember to check all your wires with a dmm not a test light!!
i take no responsibilty whatsoever for the vailidty of the info nor consequences thereof
southpawboston 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2004 at 8:23 PM / IP Logged  
i'm not sure what you're asking.