icon

building a ported box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
darky 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: January 28, 2004 at 8:57 AM / IP Logged  
im thinking aoubt building a ported box for my 2 12w3v2's. i have never built a ported box before. is there any rules different from building a sealed box? does the shape of the box matter. and how do you make a good port?
jeffchilcott 
Platinum - Posts: 2,483
Platinum spacespace
Posted: January 28, 2004 at 3:47 PM / IP Logged  
i would try out a simple program like WinISD....i even sill use it sometimes for calculations...it can be easily found as freeware on the net
2009 0-1000 Trunk WR 154.0DB 2009 1001+ Trunk WR
2007 USACI World Champion
2007 World Record
2006 USACI Finals 2nd Place
Fosgate3 
Copper - Posts: 328
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 30, 2004 at 6:04 AM / IP Logged  

Darky, I'm not familiar with the spec's on that speaker. You can build one based off the spec sheet or using a program like jeffchilcott recommended or like BassBox Pro. I have built boxes for about 14 years now, half of which has been professionally. If you have a spec sheet, send it to me via email if you can ( fosgate3@yahoo.com or fosgate3@cma.access.com) and I will be happy to look at it for you. Contrary to popular novice belief,  you can't just put a port in a box and call it "ported". Generally speaking, a ported/vented enclosure is about twice the size of a sealed enclosure. Vents/ports are different sizes and shapes and it really is based on how much space in the box that you can spare and how low you want to tune the port.