icon

mounting ideas, 2 10 subs

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shadowrelic 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 12:56 AM / IP Logged  

ok first off im a total newb and just found out about 5 minutes ago that the way you mount a sub makes a big difference in the way it sounds.

ok i have 2 10" subs both without cases.  i have an entire trunk to mount them in but i would like them to take up as little space as possable (with best performance).  they are 300 watt subs, and i was planning on installing them tomorrow.  I want my subs to do the most they can in my little car, and if the case stile will help that, then ill go for it :D

i dont know how much the cases for subs are but if they are over 15 per sub i think i might try and make one myself.

--i dont really know much about ported and sealed and all that stuff, so any links to describe the best install method would be much appreciated :D

2 subs
1 amp
0 knowledge of how to hook them up to my car.
jae-rome 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 1:10 AM / IP Logged  
It would help if you tell us what kind of vehicle they are going in. I found out from past installs that the type of vehicle the go in play a vital role in the positioning of the subs. Now to answer your other question whether to go sealed or ported I say go sealed, If you go ported then depending on your box and port you will have it hit at only specific frequency (all depends on the box) also they are harder to make if you are just starting out.
Yeah so let us know the vehicle type and the model of your sub the watts don't really help out to much on the specific design of the box. All subs require different air space.
Clean Install 
Silver - Posts: 446
Silver spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 3:03 AM / IP Logged  

what type of subs do you have, ?

If we learn from each success and
each failure, then we can improve ourselves
shadowrelic 
Member spacespace