icon

'04 Accord + Viper alarm

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Spicytofu 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: February 29, 2004 at 12:51 PM / IP Logged  

Forgive me, I'm a noob!  Got me a viper alarm installed in my 2004 Honda Accord EX.  I have 2 remotes (one from my honda key the other from viper).   I'm wondering if it's possible to program my honda key to activate the viper alarm.  All I want is one remote. 

Problem is, if i activate the viper alarm and then accidently press the unlock button on my honda key, the mofo goes off.  I can't shot off that alarm unless I put my key in the door, turn, and hold it (some guy showed me that after an embarassing 30 minutes at the mall parking lot!).  The guy also told me I have to deactivate the honda alarm that's built in (didn't know I had one, just thought it was keyless entry).

Any suggestions?  I just want to use my honda remote to activate everything (door locks, viper alarm, truck).  Can this be done?  I'll post my viper version later.  Thanks!

Toru 
Copper - Posts: 102
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 29, 2004 at 1:23 PM / IP Logged  
I think normally the aftermarket alarm takes over from the OEM stuff. You should not need to use the factory remote anymore if everything is hooked up correctly. For example, the Viper should provide door lock control (arm/disarm = lock/unlock). Does your Viper have an additional channel (extra button)? That should be usable for trunk release.
Did you install this yourself or have it done?
Spicytofu 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 29, 2004 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged