icon

non car question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
markcars 
Silver - Posts: 662
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2004 at 12:10 PM / IP Logged  
Hello people, I have a very strange question. Is there anyone on this forum that works for law enforcement or computer investigations? I am being accused falsely and don't know what to do or how to prove they are wrong.
I uninstalled a piece of software from someone's computer using PcAnywhere (Upon their request), and next day (this Monday morning) I get a call at work saying "I will call the police department and have you arrested and call your boss and get you fired from your job because all our files are deleted and emails lost".
That's way wrong, for something I did not do. They claim that I deleted all their files. Well I have been working with computers for over 10 years now and know my job pretty well. Nor did I wipe this computer in question. The details of accusation are too many to write on here.
What can I do legally to prove myself right? Please send me a private message if you don't wnat to write it on the post here. Thanks a lot.
Mark
Teken 
Gold - Posts: 1,492
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2004 at 5:02 PM / IP Logged  
1. Why would you be using PcAnywhere to uninstall a software program, and not simply instructing the client to use the uninstall / add-remove window?
2. What OS is this computer using?
3. Anyone worth their salt in a business environment would have been backing up *mission critical* files and the directory via tape, zip, CD-RW. DVD-RW, or any other form of mass storage.
4. The client will have to prove that you did indeed erase / currupt the files in question.
The first thing the Admin should and will do to varify is to see the audit trail to see what files you accessed and removed.