sub enclosure

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
VICgt 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: March 27, 2004 at 2:18 AM / IP Logged  

hey all,

i'm very new to all of this car audio, so please be gentle. i am looking at putting a sub in my fiero, back behind the seat. i have been looking at a few different ones, MTX T6104a, t6124a, kicker compvr 01c10vr4. i'm trying to find a solo baric 8", but due to remote location, am having trouble.

i have looked at how to figure out what size box to build on this sight but, holy crap, i don't understand any of it. i shouldn't say that, lol. i just don't have a clue as to what size to make it. if i go with the kicker compvr, it says it needs 0.8-3.0 cubic feet for a sealed unit. it will take me years to figure out what the dimensions should be, and i wanna get it in before i'm too old for the car. can someone please help me with the dimensions

thx in advance

VIC 

Clean Install 
Silver - Posts: 446
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 27, 2004 at 4:41 AM / IP Logged  

basicly all you do is....

well measure the Height x width x length, remember though it is the internal volume so the mdf you have too account for....a 12x12x12 inch box is not 1cubic ft. if the mdf is 1inch thick

just subtract the thickness of the wood....so a 12x12x12 inch box would be actually 10x10x10 if you take of for the wood 1 inch on both sides....hope that helps

you can use the volume calulator on this site to find out how many cubic inches a 15inch x 9 inch x 15 inch box would be...

I hope that helps....I know for sure others can explain it even better than I

If we learn from each success and
each failure, then we can improve ourselves
aggie altima 
Silver - Posts: 298
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 27, 2004 at 4:55 AM / IP Logged