icon

Alpine R-Type components

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Moovrr 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: April 01, 2004 at 4:59 PM / IP Logged  

I have a pair of Alpine SPR-176A's (6.5") component set to install in my 2002 Civic Type-R for the front, along with a pair of SPR-174A co-ax 2way's for the rear. There is no sub or amp as I am just a beginner trying to improve the factory fitted kit. The head unit is a Sony CDX-F7500 (new) with 50W x 4 at 4 ohms, impedence 4-8ohms.

Can anyone tell me if the H/U is a good enough match for the speakers, or if I have missed something out. I have been trying to find some information to determine if the speaker powers suit the H/U, since the 176's are 50W RMS and the rears are only 40W RMS, will they blow on high volumes?

As you can tell I am a novice, and will be humbled by any advice you can give me. I would also like to set the HPF and LPF on the H/U so it is optimised for the speakers, but again don't know much more than I have typed?

The speaker specs are as follows;

SPR176A's

• 6.5"
  • 200W max 50W RMS
  • 40Hz - 30kHz
  • 86dB/W(1m)
  • 4 ohms

SPR174A's

• 6.5"
  • 160W max 40W RMS
  • 45Hz - 30kHz
  • 87dB/W(1m)
  • 4 ohms
ss586 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Posted: April 01, 2004 at 5:06 PM / IP Logged  
The H/U's power is not an RMS rating.......even though it does put out ok power, I would still put an amp to them.  Radio power will sound alright, but it has very high distortion level.  Even if you got a respectable amp that was only 40x4 it would sound much better than the radio. Amps have much cleaner power.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace