Clipping problem?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Rukuzz 
Member - Posts: 26
Member spacespace
Posted: April 11, 2002 at 3:13 PM / IP Logged  

Hello to all! 

This is my first time hear.  I have a Sony amp 2150gsx 760w max (bridged 380w x1 @4ohms). 

My question is how do I prevent the amp from clipping?  I am looking to hooking up 2 JL 10wOs and don't want to bust them. 

I have 2 15" punch series 1 woofers now and busted one.  It started sounding like it was torn after I played heavy bass rap music.  I don' t want to do this with the JLs. 

I'm looking for 2 independent slim sealed enclosures for my Toyota tundra access cab?  That way I can drop one when I need space. 

Any help is appreciated. 

Thanks

the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,955
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 11, 2002 at 4:37 PM / IP Logged  

Hi Rukuzz, if the vehicle's electrical system can handle the additional current draw of your system and if your Sony amplifier is wired correctly with the appropriate size cables, adequately grounded, not wired mono into a 2 ohm load or lower, and the gains on the amplifier and any other processors before the amplifier have been properly set, the only thing left that could cause it to clip is the person riding the volume control, but that Sony amplifier should go into protection before it sends DC to your woofers and of this still doesn't mean you won't blow a woofer or any other speaker.

The best protection against blowing speakers besides fusing them is your ears, however both work very well together. Clipping problem? -- posted image.