icon

wiring 2 amps and a cap

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tpro2000 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2004 at 10:44 PM / IP Logged  

im new at installs, and know pretty much how to install 2 amps, running all the wires etc, but then my buddy said to be safe (he's an installer) to add a cap.

my question how exactly does it wire in? from the bat to the cap to the amp, or another way, i dont really have any idea and havent find a good answer to what im looking for

any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Durango9 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2004 at 10:53 PM / IP Logged  
You would wire the cap in line with the power wire to the amps. If your using a distribution block then you would wire it in line with the main wire feeding the block.
Clean Install 
Silver - Posts: 446
Silver spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2004 at 11:05 PM / IP Logged  

? why do you feel you need a cap?

what size are the amps?

You place the cap inline (parrell) with the amps.....I think that the closer the better if you ask me.....

If we learn from each success and
each failure, then we can improve ourselves
tpro2000 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2004 at 11:23 PM / IP Logged  

truth is i dont know much about them, but i know my car doesnt have the strongest alternator, and he has an older model, so i was just going along with what he said (and he gets no money out of it, so i didnt think he was telling me wrong)

one amp is a 60w x 4 (max power 960 watts), and the other is 150w x 2

so it would go from the dist to the cap to the amps (am i reading this right?)? 

bare with me, lol, like i said, everything else is ok, thats the new thing for me

Clean Install 
Silver - Posts: 446
Silver spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2004 at 11:38 PM / IP Logged