icon

Console drawings/plans. Opinions?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Mr Mufakka 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 04, 2004 at 10:48 AM / IP Logged  

Hello, newbie here. Below are a few drawings of a center console I'm planning on building. I've never had any experience with fiberglassing before but a friend of mine who has is going to help me a bit.

I'm planning on cutting out the sides from MDX (basically the shape of the side profile. I'll then ad some structural supports in the corners and maybe around the front curve? Then, stretch the fabric and lay some resign down. Next we'll add the glass from the inside. Does this sound right?

Also, it's not clear in the pictures but I'm wanting to have the top open up and use the inside as a storage compartment. Also, depending on how "ballsy" we're feeling, we might install the DVD tray to exit out of the front as pictured.

Any opinions/advice/etc is welcomed.

[img]http://mufakkaracing.com/stuff/interior/side.jpg[/img]

[img]http://mufakkaracing.com/stuff/interior/side2.jpg[/img]

[img]http://mufakkaracing.com/stuff/interior/side2close.jpg[/img]

Mr Mufakka 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 04, 2004 at 10:51 AM / IP Logged  

Console drawings/plans. Opinions? -- posted image.

djdaveoc 
Copper - Posts: 231
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 04, 2004 at 5:29 PM / IP Logged  

I have a nice center console in my 2000 Dodge Dakota that I could probably use as the frame for mine, but I decided to start over.  I'm going to glass and paint my dash so I'm just going to connect it down to the center console like Alpine did with one of their showcars.  They have pictures of the process and explain also how they did theirs.  I think I'm pretty much going to copy them :)  The only diffreence is that I'm not going to build a dash frame from wood and glass over that.  I'm going to wrap all the big pieces of the dash in polyester fleece and resin that.