Question on MB Quart Q series

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
xThumPx 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: May 25, 2004 at 11:32 PM / IP Logged  
Hey what's crackin,
I'm about to purchase the MB Quart Q series, and my question is like this. I'm kind of new to the crossover game, and I'm looking at the crossover and I'm seeing 12 terminals. Now, I put in a pair of Alpine Type R components in the past and they were no problem: 6 terminals, nice and straightforward. This is what I don't understand, Why are there 12 instead of 6 for a 2-way component set? Obviously I don't know what the deal is so any advice would be appreciated. I'm connecting them to the Alpine MRV-450 4-channel amp, if that helps. Thanks to anyone who can explain this to me!
xThumPx, Chicago
chevyman26 
Copper - Posts: 227
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 26, 2004 at 1:13 AM / IP Logged  

On MB's website it says that the tweeter can be tuned differently by utilizing different terminals. That's about all the info I can find on it. Maybe one of the dealers on the forum can shed some light.....

Mine are quite older- they were in the truck when I bought it. I'm guessing they're the 1997 models. The crossovers are mounted up where I can't see them, and have never had a reason to have needed to move them or take them out, so I don't even know how they are hooked up, or if there is more than 6 terminals on each. I have always loved the way they sound in my truck, so never needed to change anything (exc. subs, amps, and HU!  ; )    ) 

You'd better get me out of this lord... or else you'll have me to deal with. -- Hunter S. Thompson "F.A.L.I.L.V."
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 26, 2004 at 1:44 PM / IP Logged