icon

Alpine CDM-9821 Preout?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
1 Lt. 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: May 30, 2004 at 9:51 PM / IP Logged  

Im new at this but I think I have everything figured out. My only question is can I use this 'preout' on my HU to send the signal to my amp, powering the woofers, and then just use crossovers to gather the correct signal? I only ask because according to Alpine my HU, CDM-9821 can do only one of two things. The first is to power front and rear speakers, the second option is powering front speakers and subwoofers.

So with this preout can I power front and rear speakers and the subs?

boomer_106 
Silver - Posts: 710
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 30, 2004 at 10:08 PM / IP Logged  
sure the preamp output will plug into your amp. Hopefully your amp or amps has a built in crossover.
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 30, 2004 at 10:11 PM / IP Logged  
Just be shure to turn the subwoofer setting in your deck off.  then it will send full range signals, just now you can't use the sub boost and cut feature.
2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
Manoftools 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 30, 2004 at 10:14 PM / IP Logged  

1 Lt. wrote:

My only question is can I use this 'preout' on my HU to send the signal to my amp, powering the woofers, and then just use crossovers to gather the correct signal?

I dont understand your question about crossovers... but the only way that you can use that preout and amp subs and a 4 channel is by using splitters and splitting it.  I wouldnt recommend splitting out preout to six different channels.  So, use it for your subs and if you want to add a four channel I would get a radio with more preouts.

djMINIoompa 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace