icon

Replacing an amp connected to a 1F cap

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mikedawg 
Copper - Posts: 142
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 10:00 PM / IP Logged  
i never said that you dont know what youre talking about. you seem to think that i dont. so ill just let someone that i know, that knows more than you and i prove one of us wrong. if you think that your little car stereo business is above that of Tweeter's and hi fi buys, than i feel sorry for you. but for now you do it your way, and ill do it my way. oh btw, my line of work is that im a certified executive chef with a little mobile electronics hobby/ business on the side.
always looking for new info and willing to give it
archemedes 
Copper - Posts: 172
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 29, 2004 at 10:19 PM / IP Logged  
I worked for a distributor, and the cap manufacturers all specified to use the resistor for charging initialy
fuseblower 
Silver - Posts: 403
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 30, 2004 at 8:01 AM / IP Logged  

I hate to burst anyone's bubble but the guys at those stores are no better than anyone else technically speaking.  I have dealt with some of them and they only know what the books showed them and others for the love sound knew what was going on.  I've read some of the books and some did not even mention how to create a 4-ohm load using 2 dual voice coil speakers.  A cap is not to be charged at a high rate of speed for multi purposes.  You could ruing it or even cause it to explode.  Yes, a cap holds a charge but not as great of charge as a battery because it is designed for instant bursts of energy not constant power.  A charging transistor is best when charging a cap because it helps prolong its life span.

metalcorolla 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: June 30, 2004 at 10:56 PM / IP Logged