icon

what size cap do I need?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
olingerd 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: July 07, 2004 at 2:37 PM / IP Logged  
I am pretty new to installation, I know how to do it fairly well for just little experience.  Just need some advice I have sony just kinda begginer stuff, I have 2 P5 12's and the XMDS1600P5 amp that has the two subs at 900 watts.  I know my amp is going to be pulling 130 amps and my alternator isnt going to be able to handle that.  So what size cap do I need?  Is 1 farad enough?? 
mikedawg 
Copper - Posts: 142
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 07, 2004 at 2:51 PM / IP Logged  
one farad would be sufficient. i really doubt youre gonna wanna upgrade your alternator with that setup.
always looking for new info and willing to give it
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 07, 2004 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged  
If you are aware that your alternator is too small, then why are you asking what size cap you need? If you read these posts, you will know that it has been stated over and over "A cap will not fix your problem!" Take that 100 bux, save another hundred or so, and do it RIGHT. Get an alternator that will provide the current you need for the amplifier you have. THEN, and only then, consider a cap. A cap will NOT fix an underrated alternator sistuation... It will NOT make it worse (as some people believe) but it will not fix it.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
olingerd 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: July 07, 2004 at 5:59 PM / IP Logged  
what will happen if I run this system without a new alternator or cap while I look for either??
maglin