icon

Tweeters pop

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Chappy 
Copper - Posts: 49
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 2:48 AM / IP Logged  
I just installed a set of Alpine type S componants but I think I may have wired the tweets wrong. I am new to installing and I am not sure which is the positive wire on the tweets. Is it the solid black or the black with a white line? I know this is a dumb question, but I keep second guessing myself. Also, when at high volumes it sounds like my tweets are popping... is it just too loud for the tweets or could it be that they are wired in reverse? Thanks
Imagination and drive are the keys to greatness.
2000' Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
LqDFx 
Copper - Posts: 69
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 3:46 AM / IP Logged  

The black with the white should be the positive wire, look in the manual to make sure. If you do not have the manual look on Alpine's site http://www.alpine-usa.com/. If you havesound quality problems, they might wired wrong! I am not the greatest at components, but I think they have to be wired correctly to work! you don't want to mix up the phase on speakers anyway by wiring them backwards.

chevyman26 
Copper - Posts: 227
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 7:29 AM / IP Logged  
Most components allow you to reverse the phase on the tweeter to improve your imaging depending on the install, so this is probably not your problem. Are you sure you have them hooked to the crossover correctly? What are you using to drive the components - are they running off the headunit or an amp? If an amp - are the gains set properly? How high up do you turn the volume before you hear the popping?
You'd better get me out of this lord... or else you'll have me to deal with. -- Hunter S. Thompson "F.A.L.I.L.V."
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 9:44 AM / IP Logged