icon

Starter Kill & Transponder bypass?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
vl4d 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: July 18, 2004 at 3:00 AM / IP Logged  
Ok...I'm an amateur so please bear with me...I just installed a CrimeStopper 2016fm on my 03 Honda Element. I have three problems:
1. After remote starting, I get in the car and put my key in the ignition. The starter grinds as soon as I turn the key. I am assuming I need to intall a starter kill but how do I do it. Can I connect both the Starter Kill relay and the Transponder bypass module to the same "Ground when running" wire from the alarm?
2. I cannot find the tach wire in the 03 Element. I conneced to the blue cable close to the battery, - as described in the wiring diagram - but it wasn't working right. Once in a while it would start and stay on but most of the time it would start and turn right back off 2 seconds later. I changed back to smart tackless mode but now it starts twice each time I try to remote start. It starts and stops and immetiately restarts. Should I change the reference voltage on the smart tachless mode or can youguys recomment where I might find that tach wire?
3. Also , when remote started, the car sounds very diffferent than when started with the key. Is this normal?
Thanks for all your help. Question number 1 is most important right now so please answer it first.
eurotech 
Member - Posts: 44
Member spacespace
Posted: July 18, 2004 at 3:48 AM / IP Logged  
Ok, #1 starter kill has nothing to do with your grinding issue...I would say that #2 (not having tach) would be your culprit there.  It sounds like you might have the right tach wire...but did you program the brain properly?  Does your car have a factory immobilizer...because thats what it sounds like to me.  What does the car sound like when it is remote-started?  pardon my ignorance but I am not too familliar with Crimestopper products.
vl4d 
Member spacespace