icon

Who’s Who?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
delphidoc 
Copper - Posts: 53
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 23, 2004 at 6:07 PM / IP Logged  

I just saw this thread for the first time. Name's Larry, I'm 45. I have nothing to do with Delphi the electronics company. I'm a general surgeon. I like to write software using Delphi. Never could stand C++ and Visual Basic doesn't let you do API calls without calling C++ procedures.

Back in the 70's lots of people still had 8-track decks. We thought we were doing good if we had a Dolby cassette deck with a pair of Jensen 6x9 coaxials. Our idea of mods was cutting out some speaker spacers out of shelving board so the coaxs would fit in the doors of the ratty imports our dads let us drive. None of us had our own cars so we put our money into our home stereos and made sure we could get our car stereos out of the cars they were in and into the next car we were allowed to drive. My family had 7 cars for 4 drivers and usually only 4 of them were driveable. I liked having an under-dash casette deck mounted in the glovebox.

I've always liked doing things with my hands. Did a lot of electrical and instrumentation helper jobs in chemical plants while I was in college. Installed our sprinkler system, network wiring, and alarm system in our home. Lots of tinkering with computers.

My son is about to turn 16. He's all eat up with getting a pickup truck and putting in a lift kit and booming stereo. He's already got the subs and amp even though he doesn't actually have a vehicle yet. He got me to looking at the system in my Envoy. I started out just changing the door speakers. Then I decided I needed an amp. Now I'm playing around with relays and adding some sorely-need overhead swivel lamps in the roof. Next I think I'll add some tweeters to the dash. I might add a small sub later but I'm into more of a high-fidelity sound than booming. I don't care to make people's mirrors vibrate at red lights.