correct pre-amp out / sub out confusion

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kevymac 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2004 at 9:01 PM / IP Logged  
   Hi,
I'm a newbie to car audio wiring and I'm a little confused.
I have a 1999 Dodge Durango with the infinity 6 speaker setup and I'm not sure what I need to do here. What I was thinking is that I would get an aftermarket head unit, an EQ, a crossover and a pair of subs, replace the six infinity speakers with ones rated for better power handling (one in my front passenger door panel is blown anyway) and get amp(s) for the subs (not sure if I want separate ones for each sub or a 2 channel yet) an amp for front speakers (mid and tweeter in each door panel, not sure if I need an amp for each side or just a 2 channel will do) and an amp for the rear speakers. I notice that some head units have 2 pre-amp outs with a sub out as well, and I also notice that some EQ's have pairs of 1, 2 , 3 and sometimes a sub output as well. Also, some head units have some kinds of inputs too, and so do EQ's. My confusion lies right there. First off, the EQ gets connected from a pair of the pre-amp outputs coming off the head unit, correct? How do I correctly go about configuring and searching for a good head unit and EQ combo? Would one set of pre-amp outs from the deck go to the EQ and then all the speakers come off pre-amp outs from the EQ? Please help unconfuse a newbie. It's hard for me to search for the correct combo not knowing how each piece of this puzzle ties together. Thanks for any and all help.
If you think I can help, ask me... I'll try my best!
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: July 29, 2004 at 11:15 PM / IP Logged