icon

Alarms Installations Tips & Tricks

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
vncasanova 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2004 at 1:07 AM / IP Logged  

Whats up guys, Im new to this whole car alarms concept. Please bear with me if i sound a little redundant. I was wondering that when i install alarms,are there any things that i should remember, I mean in terms of safety and smooth operations. So far i only installed one alarm on my 91 integra and I am not even sure if I left out anything or should have done something that I didnt do. I think my integra was little bit easy because there isnt much to do. For example, when i install on a car, i have the car diagram in front of me, should i still test for the correctness of the wires (are there any safety measures that I should be awared of when testing wires in a car). After I have connected all the wires, are there any more measures that I should still be awared of. Please give some tips and tricks in installing car alarms. Thanks a lot in advance...

Drey 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2004 at 1:58 AM / IP Logged  
the best tip is....... practice.... everyone finds thier own way of doing things. when you're starting out... just take the extra time to make things look right.  like knowing where you're going to mount your brain so that you can the the right wire lengths and pre-wire your brain correctly.  look at the factory wiring... notice the paths... you want this stuff to be as seamless as possible.  this is just rambling.... it's late :)
5150azn 
Silver - Posts: 584
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2004 at 2:25 AM / IP Logged  
Please Please Please use a multimeter when using testing the wires! Mutlimeter will become your best friend if you use it right. I usually mount my brain first then make the connections that way i can cut the wire to length while in the car. That way when your done you'll have a clean install.
vncasanova