Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
icu400 
Copper - Posts: 123
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 21, 2004 at 3:45 PM / IP Logged  
My friend's amp has a "high level input"
it is a little square port with four pins in it, each in its own little section
I am guessing this is just another form of line level inputs, but how do you use it?
could you just run wires from the the two door speakers, each to one of the four cooresponding spots on this one? only you would need the male connector for it I gather
my friend wants to use this to wire up his amp without installing a new hu and thus using rca's
would this work for him?
flynntech 
Copper - Posts: 275
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 21, 2004 at 4:11 PM / IP Logged  

Don't ever use those.....ever.

Just buy a LOC and step the high level down to line level and use the line level inputs.  But a decent quality LOC too, it shouldn't cost much more than $25. I'm no expert on brands or whatever, but I'm sure someone here can point you in the right direction. 

Why not tap into the speaker wiring behind the HU? probably easier than going into both doors.

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 21, 2004 at 7:00 PM / IP Logged  

Hmmm, I use those high level inputs all the time for factory systems. Very seldom do we have compatibility isses with the factory stereo. This jack is indeed the high level or speaker level input. The 4 pins are usuallt + - - + for the inputs. A quick check on the amp if it labelled or a check in the manual will verify this. If you do not have the molex that plugs in it, head into the local shops, they should have some kind of moles that will plug into it.