the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Nissan Stanza Radio Install Problem


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Jaice 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Joined: August 14, 2004
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 12:04 AM / IP Logged  
I was installing a Cd Player in my friends 91 Nissan Stanza, it already had an aftermarket tape player in it, but when we removed it, everything was messed up. Whoever owned the car before him had removed the factory radio, cut the harness, added new wires, and duct taped everything together, even the pocket was duct taped to the radio.(Yes duck tape not electric tape) I traced the 2 main(Ignition and Battery)  wires to the tubing in the dash and connected them to the radio, turned the ignition and the radio did nothing. That model doesn't have a ground wire to just hook up, the old radio was grounded to the side of itself, we tried that with the new one and nothing, we grounded it to screws, and thing above the ash tray that looks like it has a main grounding wire on it, and even cut the ground to the cig lighter and tried it and still got nothing. Did I ground it incorrectly, or is it a power issue? The power wires back there are so messed up, its flustrating. The Constant 12v for that car is suppose to be RED / Black, but it looks more Red with blue dashes on it.
 
Could I buy a multimeter and test the wires, if so, how would I do that(I never used a multi before)
Its a brand new radio so it should work, is it dangerous to test the radio on a battery, the radio wires are fused already.
 
Any help appreacated
Sound Pressure 
Silver - Posts: 711
Silver spacespace
Joined: March 09, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 1:50 AM / IP Logged  
You will need a ground as well. A dmm(digital multi-meter) will absolutely help you find your correct wires for that installation. No it is not dangerous to test the radio on a battery as long as it is properly fused. As far as using a dmm, find a good ground and put your neg. probe on ground and test your power wires. Make sure that once you think you have the correct constant 12 volts you turn your ignition on and then back off to see if it stays at 12 volts as it should and test your switched 12 volts the same way but it should go back to 0 volts when you turn your ignition off.
Sound Pressure
You know you have the right amount of pressure when your eyes start to water! Now you've got Juice!
Jaice 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Joined: August 14, 2004
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 7:03 PM / IP Logged  
Finally got the issue work out, it wouldn't cause the antenna wasn't hooked up
jeffchilcott 
Platinum - Posts: 2,483
Platinum spacespace
Joined: April 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 9:20 PM / IP Logged  
Even a cheap Ditigal Multi Meter would come in handy,   I know walmart sells them for under $20
2009 0-1000 Trunk WR 154.0DB 2009 1001+ Trunk WR
2007 USACI World Champion
2007 World Record
2006 USACI Finals 2nd Place
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 9:27 PM / IP Logged  
Sears Craftsman makes several good models.  I have one for $40 that is good enough to be used daily in a shop environment, and they have some for about $30 too.  You might as well use the excuse to get one...they sure come in handy when you want to tweak your system.  At home, you can test all the AA batteries the kids have all over the place....;)
Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
Jaice 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Joined: August 14, 2004
Posted: August 27, 2004 at 9:59 PM / IP Logged  
I'm still gonna get one, I've been wanting one for some time now. Since I'm starting to get into electrical stuff, it would be a good idea to have one.
kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: February 07, 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posted: August 28, 2004 at 10:55 AM / IP Logged  
if the radio didnt power up because the antenna wasnt plugged in then you have an ungrounded unit.... expect to experience intermittent power down problems.... i suggest you properly ground this radio instead of relying on the shield of the antenna to supply ground....
Kevin Gerry
Certified Electronics Technician
MECP First Class Installer
Owner/Installer
Classic Car Audio
since 1979

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, July 21, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer