icon

bridge wires?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Pass the Roc 
Copper - Posts: 51
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 6:04 PM / IP Logged  
hey i have 4 speakers at 4ohm each, and a 4 channel amp. Is it possible to bridge them all to the amp. i'm new to this stuff and dont really understand how to bridge. if someone could show me or teach me that would be helpfull?
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 6:10 PM / IP Logged  
If you have 4 speakers and a 4-channel amp, the simplest thing to do is connect one speaker to each amplifier channel.  Why do you think you need to "bridge" anything?  What is it you hope to accomplish? 
Support the12volt.com
Pass the Roc 
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 7:58 PM / IP Logged  

can i bridge 2 of the speakers to get more power out of them then wire the other 2 to mu HU?

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 8:18 PM / IP Logged  
There is a reason why you should list the specs for the equipment you're asking questions about on here...so answers can be given.  Give the RMS rating of the amp, and the RMS rating of the speakers.
Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
Pass the Roc 
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 8:29 PM / IP Logged