icon

calculation for resistance

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
joeyng 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: September 29, 2004 at 1:25 AM / IP Logged  

Hi, I have no electronic background. trying to do a project.

anyone know the calculation how to find out:

1) what resistance is required to turn a 3.6v 900mAh battery to supply 3.6v 300mAh?

2) what resistance is required to turn a 4.8v 2000mAh battery to supply 3.7v 800mAh?

just resistance will do the job or do it require anything else?

any help will be appreciated.

dxav 
Silver - Posts: 314
Silver spacespace
Posted: September 29, 2004 at 10:27 AM / IP Logged  
Ohm's Law (on this forum, look at the menu on the left) Under basics, click : https://www.the12volt.com/ohm/ohmslaw.asp
Basically, you can work V = IR to any situation. V (or E) is Voltage, I = Current, and R = Resistance.
For power, you can also substitute elements of Ohm's Law
P = I^2R (Power = Current [square] x Resistance)
Good Luck,
DXAV
joeyng 
Member spacespace
Posted: September 29, 2004 at 6:06 PM / IP Logged  

Thanks for reply.

I read about the equation, but I'm too new to this stuff, really dunno how to subsitute the formula. I need to change both Voltage and Amp.

Can you please show me the correct calculation to convert

(4.8v 2000mAh) to (3.7v 800mAh)?

Thanks in advance

dxav 
Silver spacespace
Posted: September 29, 2004 at 8:32 PM / IP Logged  
Well, I just noticed you are not reall asking for a simple resistor value. The label of your 'current' is actually a current rating per hour. This looks like a charging circuit requirement.   Where did you get these values, and what are you trying to do?
If there were no hours on that label, it would be as follows:
1) what resistance is required to turn a 3.6v 900mAh battery to supply 3.6v 300mAh?
R = V/I
R = 3.6V/.3A (you would need to convert the amperage to the same accuracy as the voltage)
R = 12 Ohms