icon

Installing Road Gear Amplifier

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ScoutnBout 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: October 24, 2004 at 8:20 PM / IP Logged  

---I am a beginner installer. Please bear with me, I have completely rewired my Scout II using a new fuse panel and custom wiring kit from Ron Francis'  Wire Works, an isolated ground system,  a circuit bvreaker panel and other components that are not applicable to the topic here.

---I have a Road Gear 250 Watt 2-Channel Mosfet Amplifier that is going into my restored, daily driver  1973 IHC Scout II. It was pulled from an IHC Traveler along with a Pioneer Supertuner IID. Both worked fine when originally installed in the Traveler, the Pioneer works fine in the Scout II. I had a Pyramid 100W Amp in the Scout II and it worked with the Pioneer.

---Now that my son has snipped all the wires from the Road Gear Amp, I have no idea where to start. I have tried the way the Pyramid is hooked up, Remote from the head unit to the remote on the amp (10 gauge), 12v power supply from the circuit breaker panel (10 gauge), ground (-) to the isolated ground system (10 gauge), speakers to the un-bridged mounting screws and rear speaker wires from the head unit to the Low-Input RCA jacks. I don't get so much as static and it sounded very good in the Traveler.

---If you suggest I bridge the speakers, please describe how this is done. I have never  bridged an amp yet. My understanding is that you simply wire the L(+) and R(-) to one speaker and the L(-) and R(+) to the other. I don't understand what this would do, but hey... what do I know. Explaination of how this works would be great too. One is never too old to learn.

ScoutnBout 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 26, 2004 at 1:06 PM / IP Logged