icon

Need help building a concealment housing

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Chiana 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Posted: November 13, 2004 at 1:48 PM / IP Logged  
I am planning on concealing my V1 radar detector in a housing mounted to the roof console. This is on a 2000 Jeep Cherokee. It will be mounted on that empty space before the rear lights. So far I plan on having smoke plexiglass on the front and rear so it can still pick up laser. I want to make this look like a stock extension of the overhead console.
So far I plan on taking the console out, wrapping it in a trash bag than coverig the part I plan to mount it to in aluminum foil. Than make a base for the housing with the fiber glass over the top of the foil. I have limited experience working with fiberglass, but I have the general idea about it since I had recently repaired a boat I have.
After I get the base (top) made I plan on making a clay model of the housing and lay fiberglass over that to get the housing. However, I haven't figured out a way to make the housing easily removable (if I want to move the detecror to anotehr car for instance). It would be simple to bolt it to the console, but that wouldn't make it easy to remove. I had thought of making the housing in two halves, but I don't know a simple way to join them together yet make they easily removable.
Anyone have any ideas how to make it easily removable or splitable?
-Chris
Thanx,
Chris
04r1belgium 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: November 13, 2004 at 4:40 PM / IP Logged  
Hmmm... Velcro ? Magnets ?
Chiana 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Posted: November 13, 2004 at 5:05 PM / IP Logged  
Magnets + electronic device = not good.
Velcro. I thought of that, but it really doesn't look good. I am trying to make this piece look stock.
Soem form of a latch would be good, but I have no idea how I would do that.
I also would prefer not to have exposed screws.
-Chris
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751