icon

Autopage 850

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Sprayed 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Posted: November 17, 2004 at 5:56 PM / IP Logged  

I have several questions...so..Heres my problem...I have an '01 Tahoe and it had an Alpine alarm on it when I got it....but no remotes with it...so I was just handed the stock remotes....well I have some experience installing alarm and remote starts but not much....any ways everything I read tells me that this truck has a passlock II ...well I went to walmart and had an extra key made and it works fine in the ignition WITHOUT a resistor...Does this mean I dont have Passlock II or maybe the alpine alarm on it was a remote start also??...and there is already a passlock device (which i cant find anywhere) Does the 3rd ignition wire on the Tahoe have to be hooked up??...(I have had some diagrams that have not had 3rd ign for this truck and some that do (brown wire)....and the door locks are a negative trigger??? do i have to do a 3 wire relay....and lastly do I need to bypass the stock remote keyless entry somehow??

My point is I cant get this dam truck to start and I have triple checked the wires for the remote start part(....12v constant ..1st & 2nd igns....Starter...Acc...Brake Switch and grounded the alarm)

ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED!!!

jrilla 
Gold - Posts: 1,498
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 17, 2004 at 7:09 PM / IP Logged  
You need to enter programming mode before the RS will try to start the vehicle. Read the manual in the programming section where it mentions the tach or voltage mode. Everything is in the manual.
J Rilla
Owner/Installer
metaverse 
Copper - Posts: 210
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 17, 2004 at 8:27 PM / IP Logged