icon

high ground resistance when deck is on?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bullman96 
Silver - Posts: 294
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2004 at 3:03 PM / IP Logged  
last night i noticed that i had a bit of distortion in the highs with the volume at a generous level. my grounds resistance with the deck off is about .3ohms while with the key in the acc position, it is about 20-30 ohms. could the ground be the problem or should i look elsewhere?
winston_smith 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2004 at 7:27 PM / IP Logged  
i'm no expert but,
Maybe your amp is being driven into distortion, or it could be your hu distorting if your running them off the hu. Also might be the amp is getting a clipped signal from the hu.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2004 at 10:55 PM / IP Logged  

bullman96 wrote:
last night i noticed that i had a bit of distortion in the highs with the volume at a generous level. my grounds resistance with the deck off is about .3ohms while with the key in the acc position, it is about 20-30 ohms. could the ground be the problem or should i look elsewhere?

What ground are you measuring?

Support the12volt.com
bullman96 
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2004 at 11:39 PM / IP Logged