icon

ho alternator in 05 altima?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ampleguy 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2004 at 11:40 PM / IP Logged  
Hello all i am a newbie here and have a 05 altima with a deh-p8600 and alpine components all around, and 2 15 inch ample exonic subs. I have the subs hooked up to a fosgate 1000 watt amp, and the alpines to a 6 channel amp, i have had it for about 6 months with the stock 110 amp alternator and notice slight dimming at night sometimes, i wanna upgrade the alternator and the big three, does anyone know any sites with one that would fit my car, i appreciate and input, thank you.
wheelerdr 
Copper - Posts: 337
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 18, 2004 at 2:20 AM / IP Logged  
I would start with the big three first and see if this helps and i would get a yellow top depcycle battery before I would upgrade to a ho alternator. this will help alot and should give you enough power for your amps.
ampleguy 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 12:45 AM / IP Logged  
Thank you wheeler i will upgrade the big three wiring and get the yellow top battery first and see how it goes, oh yeah how do you guys like ample subs, i love them they have a good blend of gut wrenching bass and good sq, well anyways thank you for your help.
DDexter 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 8:07 AM / IP Logged  

Why go for the battery? If your problem is while the engine is running, this will not do anything.  The alternator will provide all power once the engine is running.  The battery would only kick-in if you have exceeded the alternator's output. If this is the situation, you would still need a higher output alternator.