icon

ohm's law question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
djdaveoc 
Copper - Posts: 231
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 6:56 PM / IP Logged  

I have a sub with 2 4-ohm voice coils.  If I want to run a sub amp in mono, how many ohms load with the sub be?  I'm asking because I'm trying to pair up a sub with an amp that will be a good fit power wise.  Thanks for any help.  I'm a brand newbie to car audio!

ohm's law question -- posted image. Plan, Research, Do
Lizardking 
Copper - Posts: 184
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 7:33 PM / IP Logged  

Wired in parallel that would be a 2ohm load to your amp...If you run in series I believe that would be a 8ohm load to your amp..

Eclipse "Approaching Perfection"
darthness 
Copper - Posts: 136
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 7:37 PM / IP Logged  
and in case you didnt know, you'll want run a 2ohm load, not 8ohm.
contrary to most things, smaller amount of ohms = better. i forgot why though :))
12v.boogie 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 7:40 PM / IP Logged  
wired in parrell its 2 ohm but if you monoout an amp it cuts it down to a 1 ohm. 
Lizardking 
Copper - Posts: 184
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 7:43 PM / IP Logged  

Lower the ohm the better unless you push your amp to it's limits then it's not..

Eclipse "Approaching Perfection"
pneise 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2004 at 8:21 PM / IP Logged  

darthness wrote:
and in case you didnt know, you'll want run a 2ohm load, not 8ohm.
contrary to most things, smaller amount of ohms = better. i forgot why though :))

lower resistance means more current for a given voltage=more power to speaker :)

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816