icon

router bits

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 21, 2004 at 11:09 PM / IP Logged  

Alright guys, I just got home from my girlfriends house, she gave me a router for christmas. I'm fired up about it no more rounding the mdf rings w/ a dremel tool. Anyway, I have a question for you guys that use routers, I have never used a router before, I'm definately just going to play around with it before I do anything involving boxes or something.  Alright my question is this what bits do I need to buy to use for fiberglassing?  Im going to lowes this sunday so I need to know exactly what type bits I should buy for fiberglassing.  Thanks for the help guys

Realitycheck

Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!
Carbonb 
Copper - Posts: 113
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 22, 2004 at 12:19 AM / IP Logged  
All you need is a small straight bit. You will find it in the tools section of lowes. You will see a lot of different types of router bits.
For doing a lot of other type of cutting jobs. LIke design type bits and round over bits. All you are going to want is a straight bit. Looks like a little cylinder with 2 thing blades pointing inward.
There is a big one and a small one, I'd get the small one. That's about all you need. For MDF you could buy a 3/4" roundoover bit to make the edges look nice on a box for when you carpet it.
realitycheck 
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 22, 2004 at 8:01 AM / IP Logged  

Well I was going to get a roundover bit, also because I need that to do the speaker rings and make them well rounded. hehe, So what is the straight bit mainly used for? 

And can anyone else think of any more bits I would need?

Stlb5 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: December 22, 2004 at 8:53 AM / IP Logged