the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

xm on alpine iva-900 with cd changer?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dudek38 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 05, 2005 at 7:02 AM / IP Logged  
ok, how has everyone been? i see there's many new members, hello. im wondering if on the brain of a alpine iva-900 theres a seperate port for xm radio and one for a cd changer.the reason why i ask is i accustomed to most in dash cd stereos have only one input which gets used with the cd changer. and im not familiar with alpine. i also dont have the vehicle in front of me.
owner of
Motion Marine & Car Audio
the florida keys
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: October 18, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: January 05, 2005 at 12:27 PM / IP Logged  
I believe theres only 1 ai-net input, ,but you can get a KCA-801B or KCA-410c  which gives you multiple inputs.
2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
raydawg357 
Silver - Posts: 769
Silver spacespace
Joined: June 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: January 05, 2005 at 1:57 PM / IP Logged  
The xm unit will have an ai input and output that will allow you to run the three in series
Do it right the first time
Drewt 
Copper - Posts: 183
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 04, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: January 05, 2005 at 3:25 PM / IP Logged  

Alpine stuff is great for integration of the componenets.  No one else has quality HU's, amps, etc, that will all integrate that well.

-Drew

esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2005 at 12:00 AM / IP Logged  

the alpine XM tuner that is no longer available (TUA-T020XM) has both an AI-net input and and an AI-net output.  Changer would plug into the input, then AI-net cable to the head unit.  Basically it's a daisy-chain kind of thing.

Also, the new Sirius Alpine tuner (SIR-ALP1) also has the AI-net input.  For those who are curious though, the TUA-T020XM and SIR-ALP1 will not both work at the same time.  Whichever is closest in line to the head unit will be the only one available.

Ethan
-----
"Patience, persistence, and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success"
Donate to the12volt.com
dudek38 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2005 at 6:45 AM / IP Logged  
i checked the "brain" out and it has just one ai net input thats being used by the changer. there are three rca(aux) inputs. the output of the "smart adapter" for the terk xm tuner has an ai net and rca. i was thinking i could use the rca's to the aux 1 inputs. im hoping this gives me all the info from xm. whatcha tink man?
owner of
Motion Marine & Car Audio
the florida keys
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2005 at 11:54 PM / IP Logged  

So you're saying that your terk tuner does not have two ai connections such as this?   If that's the case, then in order to actually view the xm info and change channels, you'll need either this adapter (which I'm pretty sure would work), or you'd have to unplug your cd changer.  What model is the changer?  cuz maybe it has AI-net inputs and outputs (very unlikely)....

Ethan
-----
"Patience, persistence, and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success"
Donate to the12volt.com
dudek38 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 09, 2005 at 6:02 AM / IP Logged  
i dont't know if there are two inputs on the changer but the terk tuner has an output for the ai net cable or rca's. the question is will the info run through the rcas into the brain to the alpine deck. i will answer this on monday or tuesday.
owner of
Motion Marine & Car Audio
the florida keys
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 09, 2005 at 9:13 PM / IP Logged  

the info will definitely not run through the RCA's.  only the sound signal would be able to use that.

Ethan
-----
"Patience, persistence, and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success"
Donate to the12volt.com
dudek38 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 11, 2005 at 8:50 PM / IP Logged  
i was afraid of that. im still waiting for the equipment. im prob going to unplug the changer, hook xm up to ai net then order the alpine adapter.
owner of
Motion Marine & Car Audio
the florida keys
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, January 27, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer