icon

Static electricity

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
John Luttrell 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2005 at 7:35 AM / IP Logged  

Ok guys, first of all I'm an aircraft/auto mechanic by trade with only basic knowledge of audio systems.  I have installed a very basic system in my tacoma 4wd and it sounds great, but when it's cold and dry outside I get popping noise through my speakers when I get out of the truck.  I know it is the static build up that used to shock me when I got out of the truck.  Now it doesn't shock me any more but instead the shock seems to go through my amp.  I have the amp grounded to the cab and 12 volts from the battery to the amp.  I'm wondering if maybe it's because the amp is not mounted but setting on the carpet under my seat.  Does the amp case need a seperate ground if not mounted? Any tips would be appreciated, thx.............

John Luttrell
Jay T 
Copper - Posts: 169
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2005 at 7:47 AM / IP Logged  
Double check your grounds on the amp for good clean connection. And make sure your battery posts are clean. Some vehicles are worse than others for build up while driving. Consider using a grounding strip on the bottom of the vehicle to dissipate static while driving.
John Luttrell 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2005 at 7:57 AM / IP Logged  
  Thanks Jay, I'll look into that.  I forgot to mention the static build up seems to be in the seat foam which buids up static charge as I slide out of the seat.  Forgot to mention the truck is a lifted 4wd and I can't step out onto the ground so I have to kind of slid out and hop down to the ground.
John Luttrell
Jay T 
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 14, 2005 at 8:19 AM / IP Logged  

When you "slide" out of the truck and grab the metal on the door to close it, you're grounding any static build up that occured while driving. Grab the metal on your door or frame before you hit the ground, see if that helps