icon

wiring suggestion

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
etusick 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: January 29, 2005 at 11:35 AM / IP Logged  

I am new to car audio but I want to install a small system in my 2002 trailblazer.  I have new Memphis speakers for the doors an alpine head unit an alpine sub and an alpine 4 channel amp and a kicker two channel amp.  What should I hook up to what.  Also should I run speaker wire from the speaker to amp or splice the wire on the head unit? I have heard different things. If I run the speaker wire to the head unit do I still have to use rca's? Finally do most rca's have built in remote turn on or do I have to run that wire also? Thanks!!!!

P.S The 6.5 memphis speakers came with a crossover ( I think ) Do I need to use it?

ertusick
audeogod 
Copper - Posts: 73
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 29, 2005 at 12:02 PM / IP Logged  

RCA's come either way, with or without remote turn on.  I would suggest without because the remote and power wires tend to add in unwanted noise to signal wires like RCA's.  RCA's need to be kept as far away from power and remote wires as possible.

Definitely use RCA's from head unit to amp as opposed to speaker wires.  THis will give the amp a cleaner signal.  Music will sound better.

IN order to tell you what to connect up to what, we will need to know more about the amps and speakers.  Particularly the wattage outputs per channel of each amp.  And it is less important to know the PEAK wattage as it is to know the RMS wattages.  Peak means very little. 

But just guessing, I'd say that since you only mentioned one sub, then you will be using the Kicker amp bridged to that, and the Alpine amp to the main speakers.  And if the speakers came with a crossover, then you should most definitely use it.

audeogod
92 Chevrolet Cheyenne 1/2 ton truck
Pioneer DEH-41
Eclipse 2-way coaxial 4x6's in dash
Eclipse 3-way coaxial 6 1/2's in doors(cut to fit)