icon

how to make a box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
AJRXtreme 
Silver - Posts: 302
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 29, 2005 at 10:12 PM / IP Logged  
I havent made any boxes but i thought it would be fun to build one. I would rather build one and have fun doing it than paying a professional to do it for over $100. I have some knowledge on building them but would like a website that had step by step instructions. I also wanna know which supplies i would need. thankyou
03 F150 on 24's
HU:Pioneer DVD5700
Frt:MC57
Subs:(12)S12L7
Amps:(3)KX2500.1's, MC-2004
Sancho 
Copper - Posts: 162
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 30, 2005 at 10:37 AM / IP Logged  

http://www.hometheatertalk.com/DIY_Projects/More_plans/more_plans.html 

i'm not sure if it helps you but anyway.....how to make a box -- posted image.

Head Unit:Alpine CDA 9835
6.5 MB Quart Pce 210
Amp:JBL 80.4
Amp:JBL 1200.1
Sub:Adire Brahma 12 MKII
bhawkins 
Member - Posts: 31
Member spacespace
Posted: January 31, 2005 at 1:20 PM / IP Logged  

I have built a few boxes and they are easy to make and improve the overall look of the install esp. if you make the front of the box custom fit the area that you are trying to fill.

Here is a website to check out: http://www.polkaudio.com/car/toolbox/subboxplans/SubConstruction.php

A few quick suggestions if you have a fabric store in your area you can usually find box carpet there and its cheaper than buying it elsewhere. (it is usually near the felts) I have found it at Jo Anns.

List of materials that you will need:

3/4 MDF
Cardboard (A good idea if you want to make a mockup of certain areas to see if it will fit before you cut it out on MDF. esp. if you want to make it look like the subs are part of the trunk)
Silicone Sealant