the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

car fius cable vs house fius cable


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hampeh 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: January 31, 2005
Posted: January 31, 2005 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged  
is it house fius cable can use to car fius cable....
Jay T 
Copper - Posts: 169
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 02, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 6:21 PM / IP Logged  

fuse?

hampeh 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: January 31, 2005
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 8:41 PM / IP Logged  
sorry wrong spelling...
"fius" mean "fuse"
hampeh 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: January 31, 2005
Posted: February 06, 2005 at 6:13 PM / IP Logged  
may i use fuse wire for house to change my car fuse wire?
hampeh 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: January 31, 2005
Posted: February 10, 2005 at 11:31 PM / IP Logged  
house fuse wire more cheap than car fuse wire....
may i use house fuse wire to car?
Teken 
Gold - Posts: 1,492
Gold spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2002
Location: Aruba
Posted: February 11, 2005 at 11:35 PM / IP Logged  
Typically house wiring is rigid single core conductors with 3-4 wires sheathed together. This makes the cable extremely rigid, and not very friendly to handle, exspecialy in a automotive environment.
Whereas, in automotive wiring the wire is multi-stranded, which makes it very flexable, and easy to handle and route.
Typical house wiring is rated for 15-50 amperes. If you intend to install a high output amplifier. Than, that may pose a problem.
I have never seen anyone use common 3-4 wire rigid wire in a vehicle before.
But, hey its your decision to do so. Personaly, I would not do so.
Knowledge is power. But only if you apply that knowledge in a positive way, which promotes positive results in others.
EVIL Teken . . .
hampeh 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: January 31, 2005
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 9:50 PM / IP Logged  
for example i had 20A house fuse....
may i use it to replace 20A car fuse....
overworked 
Copper - Posts: 133
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2004
Location: Australia
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 10:03 AM / IP Logged  

simple answer,

You can, but I wouldn't.


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 30, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer