2003 Galant Key w/ chip 03

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
igirl 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 1:28 PM / IP Logged  

Hi i am new to this alarm stuff.

I was wondering if it is possible to remove the stock keyless entry unit (i dont know if its an alarm or just a keyless entry) And completly replace it with a new alarm system in its place. meaning instead of splicing cables i jsut remove the stock brain unit and add the new unit in tis place and use the wires of the stock unit.

The other thing is they key with chip problem. I heard you cant do remote start with that. I dont want to leave a key in my car. to do so. so i was wondering is there are any way to get remote start with out leaving my key in the car.

jrilla 
Gold - Posts: 1,498
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 1:53 PM / IP Logged  
There is a PKU-MIT from bypasskit.com that does not require a key.
The universal bypass modules that require an additional key to go inside the module are cheaper and just as easy to install as the PKU-MIT. If you are concerned about the key being used to steal your car, you can just grind off the teeth of the key after you have the remote starter and bypass kit working.
J Rilla
Owner/Installer
velcro 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 1:56 PM / IP Logged  

1st question - no

2nd q- vehicle needs a transponder bypass kit installed along with remote starter to start without a key in ignition.  the spare key will need to sacraficed or another one purchased to be put with the bypass kit.  only the head of the key is needed, cut off the teeth portion of the key & toss.  keys available at http://www.nvo.com/chipkeys/mitsubishikeys/

igirl 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 01, 2005 at 11:10 PM / IP Logged  

So no way around the remote start either key or keyless module.