icon

Fiberglass and then wood ?How? Pics

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
craigroyse 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: February 17, 2005 at 11:50 PM / IP Logged  
Hey, I started a project with my buddy on his truck. It's like a 1991 chevy silverado. I started off by laying masking tape and then some painters tape, then i layed 1 layer of fiberglass mat. I'm going to have to use mdf wood to make the top and possibly a side or 2.
How will I connect the fiberglass i have to that wood?
I have read alot about people adding fiberglass to their box that has started out with wood, but this box starts out with the mold of the fiberglass. This is my first project so any tips would really help out.
Sorry, could not get my pics loaded, said something about only able to be 30 kb and mine was 199kb
thanks,
craig
doc t 
Copper - Posts: 169
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 6:05 AM / IP Logged  
If you have to make two sides out of MDF, i would scribe cut the mdf frame  to match the edges of the mold that you make and attach the edges with a couple of small nails to hold it in place, then lay glass over the edge seam to get a good bond between the two at least three inches wide on each side of the joint, then continue to lay glass to your desired thickness over the entire project. with out a pic it is hard to give ideas but if it is what i'm seeing in my mind that is the way i would do it.
All Bleeding stops.....eventually!
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 7:27 AM / IP Logged  
Yeah if were thinking what you're saying i'd follow what doct  says.
Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!
craigroyse 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 7:34 AM / IP Logged  
I have heard about glass but i don't know what it is. Could you explain glassing a little bit for me. Thanks
doc t 
Copper - Posts: 169
Copper spacespace