icon

Capacitor or Red top?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
xb2002 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 12:28 AM / IP Logged  

I have had a pair of hx2 dual 2ohm in a 92 acura legend now for 2 years no problems with a kicker 360 (720rms i think)pushing them. When I installed the subs I ran 1/0 welding lead from the front battery positive to the rear battery positive(both red tops). I also ran a 12" 1/0 from front battery to strut tower, and rear to frame. I ran a #2 welding lead from my alt to my front battery positive, and the same size ground bolted to the alt. I had 3 other 8 gauge grounds to to header core on front end, firewall, and fender. In the trunk I used #2 welding leads and connected my amp directly to the battery. This setup gave me a good sounding loud system.

I am new to capacitors.  I just sold the car and I bought a T10001bd and a pair of P3's. I will be installing them into a 98 chrysler sebring. I am curious if a double battery setup like I had in the acura would be reliable in the Sebring??  I didnt have a isolator, nor a fuse. I am an automotive tchnician with 10yrs exp. I didnt install a fuse between batterys because of financial reasons at the time. I will not be playing the system longer than a minute or two at idle. 

So I guess my questions is caps???? or  extra bateries???

kfr01 
Gold - Posts: 2,121
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 12:33 AM / IP Logged  
New ho alt if anything. Extra batteries or caps would be a waste of money, imo.
New Project: 2003 Pathfinder
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 18, 2005 at 12:34 AM / IP Logged