the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Distro block or 2 Power Leads?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
FreakypervSD 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Joined: February 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 1:19 PM / IP Logged  

I have a 2 amps 150 (2 channel) and 120 (4 channel), My question is, Would running 2 power leads from the battery ok to do instead of using a distribution block? I know I would have to use a fuse on both lines. But is using a distribution fuse block really neccessary? thanks

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 2:30 PM / IP Logged  

1. Yes.  And 2. No it's not, as long as both wires are properly fused for the wire rating.

Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
supradude 
Silver - Posts: 915
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 21, 2004
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 2:47 PM / IP Logged  
I have had my car both ways. I personally like the 2 seperate wires on my car, but I would use 1 and a distribution block on an install for others. It just looks more professional to me.
'85 Toy
deocder 
Copper - Posts: 138
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 27, 2004
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged  
Wouldn't running two wires instead of one increase the overall resistance? Say if you run, 2 eight gauge wires, the overall resistance would be greater than if you ran 1 4 gauge wire. I'm not sure how this would affect performance though.
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 3:13 PM / IP Logged  

This is one amp per wire, so as long as the wires are plenty large enough for max amp draw it's fine to do.  And, there is resistance added any time a connection is made such as a disto block, or the second fuse holder and fuse, too.  That would be neglible as well.  Compared to the resistance that the audio has through chassis ground, the points of resistance in the power line don't count for much.

wayland1985 
Silver - Posts: 353
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 31, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 3:23 PM / IP Logged  
The only problem with running two wires as opposed to one are the need for more materials. 2x the wire, 2x the fuse holders, 2x the ring terminals for the battery (if you're using ring termnials)...2x the holes in the firewall...
~wayland
FreakypervSD 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Joined: February 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: February 20, 2005 at 3:44 PM / IP Logged  

ok so besides the extra material there wouldn't be any blown amps, speakers and or car turning into  a big blazing ball of flame down the freeway...and thank you so much for the info


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer