the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

battery terminals


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ty 
Copper - Posts: 137
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: September 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 23, 2005 at 2:33 PM / IP Logged  
anyone know where I can get some battery terminals?  I need my positive terminal with 2 0ga openings, one for alternator and one for amp.  I already checked ebay and they don't have one with 2 openings, and I have checked a lot of stores, I would appreciate any input.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,739
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
ty 
Copper - Posts: 137
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: September 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 23, 2005 at 8:16 PM / IP Logged  

thanks DYohn, I have a question though, can I run my 1/0 ga from the alternator to a fuse block, then run one 1/0ga to battery, and another to my amp?  This would help my problem of finding a battery terminal with two 1/0 openings.  I read somewhere these guys talking about a busbar, just basically a distribution block with no fuse right?  Should I use one of those or normal block if I can use a distribution block for this set up? 

Also right now in my 2000 civic the alternator is ran to my accessory fuse box, then to the battery, I will leave the wire going to battery from accessory obviously so I can power my accessories, but should I take the alternator wire out of the fuse box?  It won't be doing anything but should I keep it there just in case?

Also should I redo my tranny ground? 

I have done some research already on the big three, but if you think it is better I can post a new topic, I just wanted to keep it simple thanks DYohn.

deocder 
Copper - Posts: 138
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 27, 2004
Posted: February 23, 2005 at 10:48 PM / IP Logged  
I would keep it running through the fuse box since that's where the main battery fuse is. It's an 80 Amp fuse. It's a direct connect to the alternator from the battery. If you were to run a wire straight to the alternator, I would highly recommend fusing that wire to protect it. It could cause a lot of damage if you were in an accident.
I have a Honda as well. I am up grading my cables from the battery to the fuse box to 2 gauge. That way I can utilize the factory fuse.
WTB: Black Leather Acura GSR seats
ty 
Copper - Posts: 137
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: September 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 2:07 AM / IP Logged  

sorry for the confusion I know the wire needs to be fused, but can I fuse it through a distribution block and then send one wire to the battery and one to the amp?   Anyone know this or do I need to post a new thread?

Also I do not want to use factory fuse box because I am going to be passing a little more than 80 amps through my 1/0ga wire, hence why I am using 1/0 in the first place.

MBZ oe 
Silver - Posts: 385
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 18, 2003
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 5:11 AM / IP Logged  

Here's what I did -  0ga from alt to a 0ga T-block where I split  to amp fuse and to battery with 0ga . Then I ran a 4ga to my factory power block. 0ga for grounds and to the back. 200amp circuit breaker between alt and T-Dist block. 

battery terminals -- posted image.

boom, boom, boom boom....
MBZ oe 
Silver - Posts: 385
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 18, 2003
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 5:13 AM / IP Logged  

I also recommend my friends site for terminals, connectors, wire, etc: www.darvex.com

boom, boom, boom boom....
ty 
Copper - Posts: 137
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: September 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 1:08 PM / IP Logged  
thanks for the pic, how much did that circuit breaker cost you?
MBZ oe 
Silver - Posts: 385
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 18, 2003
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 5:48 PM / IP Logged  
MBZ oe 
Silver - Posts: 385
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 18, 2003
Posted: February 24, 2005 at 6:15 PM / IP Logged  

ty wrote:
thanks for the pic, how much did that circuit breaker cost you?

You know thats the fuse in the pic, right? Breaker is not visible in pic as it is close to alt.

boom, boom, boom boom....
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, June 13, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer