This Noise Is Driving Me Crazy!!

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jadamson76 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: February 26, 2005 at 5:41 AM / IP Logged  
Hello,
I drive a Grand Cherokee with the Infinity system. I have this real annoying popping noise in my system. It sometimes happens when my fan motor kicks on and sometimes it just seems to happen. I've checked all of my connections, and they appear to be fine. I don't know if the fan motor is causing this or perhaps the infinity speakers or amp that came from the factory. Any suggestions to help me elimate this annoying noise would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
bumpingjeep 
Copper - Posts: 149
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 26, 2005 at 7:45 AM / IP Logged  
tell us more about what you have so we can try to help you
tronmonster 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: February 26, 2005 at 8:03 AM / IP Logged  
I am not an installer, I am a technician. I think I have a good idea of what's going on here.
Ideally, no device in the car should be able to cause noise in any other device---at least, not through the 12-volt system (and that is what's happening to you).
If every device has a perfect connection to both 12 volts and ground, then you should be immune to noise, but it's not a perfect world. When there is a slight resistance in a connection, the resistance allows the device's connection to 12 volts to vary, and if the variance is high enough, you get audible noise.
I would suggest checking your connections and make sure they are as perfect as possible. Even your vehicle's battery connections might cause noise---you don't get a good, clean power source without good connections to the 12 volt system. Bear in mind that fuse blocks or any other connector might be a problem.