How to headphone jack on bike

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
patscott 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: March 25, 2005 at 11:13 AM / IP Logged  

Hello everyone,

I have just discovered your forum here while searching for some info so I am a newbie with a problem to solve. It sure looks like this is a great place to ask for this kind of help, lots of very knowlledgeable folks here. If this has already been asked, I apoligize, I tried searching for about a half an hour with no real luck.

What I want to do is put a headphone jack (or some kind of plug for earbud or helmet speakers) on my BMW K1200LT motorcycle. I have removed the rear top case that contained the rear speakers and want to use those leads to connect to the helmet. I know that the stereo jack is only a three conductor plug that uses a common negative. I have been informed that my head unit will be damaged if i share or combine the left and right neg. from the head unit. When using this plug I will most likely fade all the sound to the back speakers from the head unit controls and than adjust the headphone listening level from the head unit as well.

I have recently started learning about electronics so you can let be have it with both barrels with the technical stuff and I will make it my mision to research and understand.