icon

box specs and a couple questions

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
1stimer 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: May 04, 2005 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged  
This is from the image dynamics site and is specs for a ported enclosure for an idq-10.
                      large       normal          small
Ported Volumes      1.0cuft      1.0cuft      .75 cuft
Ported Frequency    30Hz       30Hz              34Hz
Port Dimensions 3.0"IDx15"      3.0"IDx15"    2.5"IDx13"
-3dB In car\Free space
             18Hz/28Hz      18Hz/28Hz      22Hz/35Hz
Questions: I am a newb, so please forgive my ignorance.
Do these stats tell me that the ported frequency will be the stated number based on the length of the port, or that this is what the ports need to be tuned to?
Does it matter if the port is inside or outside of the box, or a combination of the two?
What are ports made of? pvc?
I am trying to see if I could design and build a box that would have a port that extends up through my rear deck....installer quoted me $400 to design and build one and I think that is way too much money. Thanks if anyone can offer any insights for me.
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 04, 2005 at 9:26 PM / IP Logged  

The tuning frequency is derived from the 1) air volume in the enclosure, 2) port area dimensions (or diameter if round) and 3) port length.  Ports don't get tuned...they provide enclosure tuning.  https://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#por

A combination of inside/outside is fine.  Leave space at least equal to the diameter of the port tube at the both ends of the port.

Yes.  PVC is widely used.