icon

'95 Explorer Limited w/ premium sound

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
NateDG 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: May 20, 2005 at 12:56 PM / IP Logged  
Hey. I was wanting to install my aftermarket HU but this is seeming to become something of a headache. As previously stated, I have a '95 Explorer Limited with 6 disk changer in the console and the powered sub in the rear pass. corner and also a power antenna. I have been through two different wire harnesses with neither one doing a thing for me. I do know that EVERYTHING is in that rear corner. The front factory HU is just a dummy controller with the actual tuner and speaker connections being back at that factory amp. Basically I am just looking for another (easier) way to do this install as I am too stubborn to give Circuit City or someone 200+ bucks. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a quasi-experienced installer but this was has me pretty stumped. Thanks in advance.
-Nate
OhioMike1101 
Silver - Posts: 343
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 21, 2005 at 12:56 AM / IP Logged  
the dash kit fits in the dash of that car with relative ease. i also think one of the harnesses fits an installationi harness as well (the harness that has the power/ground/ignition/power antenna). but you will probalby need to wire 4 sets of speaker wires either to the speakers themselves or to the amplifier in the rear passenger side panel.
i got myself into one of these and i had to tell the dude i couldn't do it for the basic $20 install charge b/c i'd need to wire up speaker wires away from the deck for roughly $35 per speaker.
Pearl96Max 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: May 21, 2005 at 8:41 AM / IP Logged  
It *should* be Metra P/N: 70-5601 thats for 94-97 Ford/Lincoln/Mercury with the JBL system.
NateDG 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 21, 2005 at 12:22 PM / IP Logged