icon

Blowing fuses!

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
teklife256 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: June 10, 2005 at 1:45 AM / IP Logged  
Well, I have a Pioneer DEH-1500 that I am trying to install in a '93 Mazda B2200. Everything was great until I realized that the wiring harness that cam with the stereo did not have the inline fuse attached for the 12V constant. So, I just reused the inline fuse that was attached to the previous stereo in the truck. When I power up the stereo it starts for a minute until I try to insert a CD when the stereo dies and blows the 32V .5A inline fuse that is attached to the 12V constant wire. My question is this, what are the fuse ratings for this stereo and vehicle for the 12V constant and the switched inline fuse? Or is there a universal rating that is obviously greater than .5A? I really need your expert help, I know I am a newbie but I just want some music while commuting. Can you help a guy out? Thanks.
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 10, 2005 at 2:20 AM / IP Logged  
More than likely it is a 10 amp fuse. You may be able to find that info out at pioneer's web page.
teklife256 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 10, 2005 at 7:35 AM / IP Logged  
That is the thing, I have been to the Pioneer site and spent alot of time looking there as well as other web sites. You can understand that I do not want to damage my new radio due to my lack of experience with these things. Hopefully, someone can help me out here. I have been singing to myself and getting some crazy looks on the road.
Blowntweeters 
Silver - Posts: 650
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 10, 2005 at 9:39 AM / IP Logged