the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

wiring amp to subs ?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mick328 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: June 09, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 15, 2005 at 4:57 AM / IP Logged  

if i bridge my 2 channel amp , how do i wire my twin vibe subs they are cbr120 ?

longmill pharaoh ra-003

vibe cbr 120 twin enclosure

do i wire them in series or paralell ?

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: June 15, 2005 at 8:47 AM / IP Logged  

Here is a wiring wizard:  http://www.sounddomain.com/shop/wooferwizard.pl

Enter the number of subs and the voice coil configurations.  You want to end up with an impedance of 4 ohms or higher to bridge across a two channel amp.

Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
mick328 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: June 09, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 16, 2005 at 6:23 AM / IP Logged  

so i need to wire them in series to my bridged amp?

As far as i understand my speakers are 4ohm single voice and i have to end up with 4 ohms so i wire them in series?

That is amp+ to + then - to other speaker + then - back to amp-

I hope that is right please let me know as i am installing today.

thanks, (i know i might sound daft but it aint easy)

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: June 16, 2005 at 11:09 AM / IP Logged  
That is correct.  It will be an 8 ohm bridged load.  Your amp will most likely be capable of twice the power output with a 4 ohm bridged load, but with two SVC 4 ohm subs that is the only choice you have.  (Or you can connect a sub per channel if you like for the same output.)
Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, September 25, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer