icon

how to join 2 amps?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tinter 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2005 at 11:31 AM / IP Logged  
how do u join the 2 amps? with speakers and woofer box, thank you for any help, yes i am a rookie,lol
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2005 at 11:38 AM / IP Logged  
Please describe your gear.  What are you trying to do with the two amps?
Support the12volt.com
tinter 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2005 at 11:59 AM / IP Logged  
alpine deck cdm-7871 going to 2 amps  not sure what brand, going to 10"x2 subwoofer box, with a crossover. I have been installing remote starters and alarms for 14 years, but never installed audio, except for the occasional deck for friends, thanks again
jussam 
Copper - Posts: 78
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2005 at 12:23 PM / IP Logged  

how to join 2 amps? -- posted image.

4ga wire from battery +to the  rear  to a distribution block 4ga-split to(2) 8ga for short run if amp are close to each other if not fuse each 8ga.

ground to chassis from (-) of each amp

remote (ign) from hu to a relay or splice y type to remote on amp

2-alpine amp mrv-f545 4ch amp
polk audio 6 1/2 frontdoor w/alpine center speaker
polk audio 6 1/2 rear w/8"polk sub
2-12" alpine X type sub
2-alpine mdr-1005 amps
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace