5th wheel RV stereo

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bhicks0944 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2005 at 10:03 PM / IP Logged  

Hello,

It will be obvious that I am a real beginner in this area.  I have a 5th wheel RV that had its AM/FM radio/tape deck unit suddenly die.  I have a plan to install an auto radio, CD or tape deck in the "hole" where the stereo used to be.  I know it will take some creative mounting for the unit to fit, but I first need to know if there is any reason why my plan won't work?  The 5th wheel is a 12v system.  The wiring bundle for the speakers, and the (4) wires that were hooked to the old stereo are still in place, along with an "plug" for the antenna.  QUESTION:  Aside from the mounting, styles, and options, associated with an audio set, do all sets basically have a standard wiring setup with an antenna plug?

I told you this is not one of my areas.  I am willing to tackle a job if I have some idea of what can be done, and how to do it.  I appreciate any help that you might be able to send my way.

Thank you,

Bill

outlaw000 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2005 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged  

i dont see why your idea wont work as long as you find all your wires and have an idea of how to mount it on

aftermarket radios the color coding is as is :

yellow:constant (12v)
red:switch(accessory)
black:Ground
blue/white stripe:remote amp(ampturn on)
blue: power antenna
white:left front (+) speaker
WHITE/ black stripe:left front (-) speaker
grey:right front (+) speaker
grey/black stripe: right front (-) speaker
green:left rear (+) speaker
GREEN/ black stripe:left rear(-) speaker
purple:right rear (+) speaker
PURPLE / black stripe: right rear (-) speaker

so just find these wires in your rv test them to verify that they are the right wires and just hardwire them to the harness on your aftermarket radio

bhicks0944 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace