the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Jeeputer Version 1.0


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
oonikfraleyoo 
Gold - Posts: 1,069
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 04, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: July 15, 2005 at 10:15 PM / IP Logged  
I wouldn't worry about the harddrive at all. Harddrives can take a beating. There are people on MP3car.com that claim to have gone through some nasty wrecks and the computer never skipped a beat. I personally have been off road with mine, and it never had a problem at all. If you hit a bump that damages your harddrive, you have much bigger problems to deal with.
Nik
Jeeputer Progress
[|||||||||||-] 90%
Check it out.
oonikfraleyoo 
Gold - Posts: 1,069
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 04, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: July 17, 2005 at 8:21 PM / IP Logged  
Well, no more just searching for blown fuses and shorted wires. Now I have the added pleasure of figuring out what drivers I need and why certain .xml files aren't being read. I think I'm gonna have to buy XP too. Oh well, troublshooting is part of the fun right, right?
Nik
Jeeputer Progress
[|||||||||||-] 90%
Check it out.
5150azn 
Silver - Posts: 584
Silver spacespace
Joined: June 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 09, 2005 at 12:44 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys. WTF is up with the GLARE!??? Are there any monitors out there with no glare? My company is a 12v distributer and if it exsists we can get it. And our company is currently looking into that market. Let me know whats up guys PM me!
Tell the Snap-On guy I'm not here!
5150azn 
Silver - Posts: 584
Silver spacespace
Joined: June 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 12, 2005 at 12:57 PM / IP Logged  
So I gess there are no non-glare touch screen monitors? Are there any fixes rather than using an umbrella to block the sun?
Tell the Snap-On guy I'm not here!
oonikfraleyoo 
Gold - Posts: 1,069
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 04, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: August 20, 2005 at 4:06 PM / IP Logged  
Sorry, I've been out of the country for awhile. There are no "glare bust" VGA screens that I know of, but placement is really the biggest thing. Mine isn't that bad at all. I have tinted windows and I use a light colored skin during the day and have no problems reading whats on the screen. Again placement is the biggest concern. Most of the glare that I do get comes from the back windows. If I was able to move the screen down another 6" then I would have absolutly no glare. Every car is different and some may only have one option. You could also look into upgrading the backlight in the LCD.
Nik
Jeeputer Progress
[|||||||||||-] 90%
Check it out.
Uniqueaudio 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Joined: June 15, 2005
Location: Germany
Posted: October 08, 2005 at 2:12 PM / IP Logged  
oonikfraleyoo, I have a question for you. Do you have your audio setup running through the computer? Do you also have a head unit or are you using the computer as a head unit? If you are using the computer as the head unit how do you have the amplifiers hooked up? Either way could you take some pictures of how they are hooked up to your audio system? Thanks.
Sincerely,
       J
email: uniquekennels@hotmail.com
uniquekennels@hotmail.com
audiointl 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Joined: October 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: October 19, 2005 at 1:26 AM / IP Logged  
My system is a little different...I used a $10 1/8-inch-to-RCA wire (made by Belkin....claim to be IPod specific, yea ok) into a 3-way Xover then to amps.  turn the PC down a bit to reduce noise.
Everything I touch turns to ICE
DukeDuke 
Silver - Posts: 206
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 01, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: October 29, 2005 at 12:01 PM / IP Logged  
Please, take some pictures, I have been planning on putting a carputer into my Maxima, and it will be going into my system I am installing now, I have the computer here already, all I need is a new PS, and V. Card and Audio card. I like the idea of haveing 2 external hard drives that I can take and install audio on one and video on another,  and I can have a CD/DVD drive in my trunk in case there is a CD or DVD a friend wants to listen to or watch, that I don't have stored on the HD. I want to get rid of my headunit and have a 10 inch touchscreen mounted into my dash. But I am wondering how I should go about doing this, since I would have to shut down and turn on my OS everytime I restart the car. I would think I would have much more audio control over my subs and highs and lows in a computer than in a headunit. But I am not 100% if you can help me out, please let me know. What I am basically asking is how should I go about installing this, and what is the best cards I can get to use, so I have atleast FM, maybe even AM radio. And, as far as software, what are the recommendations! Please help! Thanks! Have a great halloween everyone!
Duke Duke
customcarputers 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 05, 2005 at 6:09 PM / IP Logged  

DukeDuke wrote:
Please, take some pictures, I have been planning on putting a carputer into my Maxima, and it will be going into my system I am installing now, I have the computer here already, all I need is a new PS, and V. Card and Audio card. I like the idea of haveing 2 external hard drives that I can take and install audio on one and video on another,  and I can have a CD/DVD drive in my trunk in case there is a CD or DVD a friend wants to listen to or watch, that I don't have stored on the HD. I want to get rid of my headunit and have a 10 inch touchscreen mounted into my dash. But I am wondering how I should go about doing this, since I would have to shut down and turn on my OS everytime I restart the car. I would think I would have much more audio control over my subs and highs and lows in a computer than in a headunit. But I am not 100% if you can help me out, please let me know. What I am basically asking is how should I go about installing this, and what is the best cards I can get to use, so I have atleast FM, maybe even AM radio. And, as far as software, what are the recommendations! Please help! Thanks! Have a great halloween everyone!

By using a 12v dc-dc PSU you'll have an automatic start-up/shut-down controller, use an Opus, Carnetix, or M1. You can also get the pc to go into hybernate, instead of shutting down, this way it'll restart quicker. Shut down delay times are also adjustable.  FM/AM radio is not really workable on a carputer, reception is poor. But you can add XM.

How should you go about installing this? Ask me this in an email and I can reply.

j_darling2007 
Copper - Posts: 210
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: December 19, 2005 at 2:47 PM / IP Logged  
How fast will your battery drain when the pc is in hybernate mode.
There are 3 kinds of people in the world, those who can count and those who can't
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, July 25, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer